Do You Like It?

If you didn’t already know, Christmas is only 38 days away. Okay, I’m a bit early and I apologize to everyone who hates when people talk about Christmas to early. BUT, This is when I start planning gifts for my loved ones…especially the boyfriend.

Why do presents create so much pressure?!

Why am I always terrified that my gift isn’t perfect enough?!

Over the years I have learnt some do’s and don’t about getting gifts. These facts have helped me ace Christmas but also stay on a budget.  Guess what? I’m going to share them with you.

Don’ts:

First of all, don’t buy the first thing that comes to mind. If you decide you have a great idea, sit on it for a week or so just to make sure you still want to get that for the person. There’s nothing worse then ordering something off amazon and realizing you have to return it. Secondly, don’t go too “cheese”. By cheese, I mean affectionate and lovey dovey. There’s a very fine line to perfect cheesiness, please don’t cross that. Lastly, don’t spend too much. It always sucks when your partner spends hundreds of dollars on you and you got him something from the heart. It puts both parties in an uncomfortable situation and creates some tension. No one wants tension on Christmas day.

Do’s:

Firstly, Start thinking early. Give yourself ample time to come up with an awesome idea that your loved one will die over. Start throwing out ideas a month before and see what he or she is super interested in (needs to be done stealthily). Secondly, always set a budget for yourself and your significant other. As I said in the “don’ts” Paragraph, no one wants that awkward moment where he got you diamond earrings and you got him some underwear. Lastly, get them something that YOU want to get them. Ditch the stereotypes and ideas from others, it will mean so much more if your loved one knows its coming from you. Personally I always go for the funny gifts, but that’s just who I am.

tumblr_nh1cqzdhzy1rh6gk6o1_500
40.media.tumblr.com

I wish you all luck in your holiday shopping and hope you find that perfect gift. Hey, and if you don’t, your loved one will just have to suck it up and wait till next Christmas.

#SuckItUp

Cover Photo: http://67.media.tumblr.com/8491692ef75f26a124d40e17ef227334/tumblr_nzbfqaRGVm1v1f0szo4_500.jpg

Leave a Reply

